The Tinder Experiment: An Online Dating App Review!

I have had a lot of readers ask me if I have ever used the Tinder app that has become very popular. Up until last night I was a tinder-virgin, but to see what all the fuss was about I decided to try it out.

Tinder is interesting. The tips and tricks that I write about on here, hardly apply in the world of Tinder. For those of you that do not know what Tinder is, and how it works, I will explain it briefly. Tinder is an app that integrates with your Facebook (privately and does not post on your behalf), Tinder shows you matches based on your location, mutual friends on Facebook, and things that you have liked on Facebook. When you view a match you can only see Facebook photos that the member has selected to be visible, along with their first name, age, distance from you, mutual friends, mutual likes, and a 500 character about section. IF you determine that you like this person, then you swipe their photo to the right of your screen. IF you decide you do not like this person, then you swipe their photo to the left of your screen. If you swipe to the left, then a new match pops up and you continue searching. IF you swipe to the right, then IF that person has ALSO swiped YOU to the right, then Tinder declares it a match. If you have swiped each other, then you are able to message each other.

Pros…

  • Tinder provides a safety net for those of you worried about fake profiles. If you have mutual friends, you can go and ask those friends about the person and learn about them before meeting them!
  • Because it is integrated with Facebook, all members have a Facebook profile, so it is easy to go and find them and give them a more detailed look.
  • I think a lot of people have photos they use on dating sites, that they wouldn’t typically share with friends and family. Because the only photos allowed on Tinder are those from Facebook, you get a really good look at the true person behind the name.
  • Distance and Age are better controlled. Most people don’t put the wrong age or location on Facebook, so I feel the information is much more accurate than that of a free-for-all online dating app.
  • Tinder has quite the user base so there are TONS of potential matches, I was literally shocked as I explored the seemingly endless possibilities.
  • Because it HAS TO BE a MUTUAL match, you don’t receive messages from people that you aren’t interested in. When you get notified of a Tinder message, it is a lot more exciting because you know it is from someone that YOU said you liked.
  • You can’t search profiles, so unless it is a match, after the swipe they are gone. I think a lot of people can get obsessive over an online dating profile. I have had men send me messages to the point where I had to block them from okCupid. I like that with Tinder, I don’t have to deal with that.

Cons…

  • The entire app is based on superficial things. Most people I know that use this app just swipe any attractive person to the right, and the rest go to the left. They never really take the time to look at the small ‘about me’ section.
  • Most members do not take the time to even put anything in their description, so you really know nothing about these people and have to base everything on looks.
  • It is REALLY EASY to ACCIDENTALLY swipe someone to the LEFT when you didn’t mean to do that. My thumb got stuck doing the flipping motion and next thing I knew BOOM I may have just dismissed my future husband. Now I will be forced to spend the rest of my life with my cats and Netflix because my thumb got swipe-happy.
  • You WILL see people you KNOW and they WILL see YOU. So if you have anxiety over that, then this app is definitely NOT for you. I don’t think anyone should feel ashamed for online dating, but if you do happen to feel that way, do not download this app. I saw so many people I knew on there it was shocking. Personally, I don’t care, but as a PSA to those that do, you definitely will see people you know.
  • This app has a reputation as a ‘hookup app’ and not necessarily a ‘dating app’. I can definitely tell from the messaging I have experienced so far, that some people do use this app strictly for hookups. It doesn’t really give you the opportunity to say what you are there for, so it is really hard to know what someone wants.

I definitely plan to continue to use Tinder. I think that it is a fun app that feels kind of like ‘online speed dating’. As I continue to use it and learn more about it, I will start posting any tips that I am able to find. If anyone out there is having trouble with online dating websites like okCupid, POF, etc and you are looking for fast results I would definitely recommend giving it a try. It is a free app and only takes up (so far) 52.7MB on my iPhone, okCupid right now is hogging 121MB.

I am curious to hear of any Tinder stories out there! Have you used this app before? Do you know people that have? What are your thoughts and opinions on this unique way of finding people? Please comment below and let me know!

Thank you for reading! I know this is a little different than my normal posts, but I wanted to let you guys know about it in case you have either never heard of it, or didn’t know exactly what it was. I plan on doing a more ‘normal post’ tomorrow, and a PICTURE post is coming up this weekend!!! Make sure to follow my blog so you don’t miss out on any of the fun!

THANK YOU and HAPPY SOUL SEARCHING! xoxo

5 thoughts on “The Tinder Experiment: An Online Dating App Review!

    1. wishfuljenn Post author

      Thank you for your comment! I definitely think it will be a fun way to meet people. I’m still on the fence about whether or not Prince Charming is on Tinder though!!! Haha

      Like

      Reply
  1. girlseule

    Tinder is awful and fun at the same time, I have been on a few dates with Tinder dudes, but nothing that got serious. A lot of guys would just message me ‘DTF?’ I had to google what that meant!

    Like

    Reply
    1. wishfuljenn Post author

      It certainly is extremely different from the standard online dating concept! I don’t know if you use Pinterest, but search ‘tinder funny’ on there! Wow some of the messages people get! Crazy!!! Haha thank you for your comment!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

